(Scott Drayco Series #3)

  • 2016 Killer Nashville Silver Falchion Award Finalist

  • 2016 Library  Journal Self-E Finalist

A mystery novel with an unusual detective from the award-winning Scott Drayco mystery novel series by BV Lawson

Crimetime Press

eBook ISBN:  978-0-9904582-6-5      
Trade:  ISBN 978-0-9904582-7-2      
Hardcover:  978-0-9904582-8-9  



A mysterious music puzzle. A murdered co-ed. Sinister secrets.

Three years ago, Scott Drayco left the FBI after an incident involving his partner, Mark "Sarg" Sargosian. Now a freelance crime consultant, Drayco often helps law enforcement on cases, but he never imagined his estranged former partner would turn up on his doorstep pleading for Drayco's help. A co-ed at an elite Washington, D.C., private college has been murdered, and the victim's friend—Sarg's own daughter Tara—might be the next target.

The killer left behind a puzzling music code at the crime scene, and Drayco soon learns he has two things in common with the murdered girl, a music background and synesthesia. The case takes an even stranger turn after a second murder and a second music code, with signs pointing toward a possible ritualistic killing. When Drayco himself starts receiving coded messages, he becomes locked in a deadly game with a madman where only one of them may come out alive.


"A notable title worth putting on your SELF-e reading list." - Library Journal

"BV Lawson has created a memorable character in Drayco, a concert pianist turned FBI agent, turned crime consultant. He also has the fascinating condition of synesthesia, which not only adds a mysterious depth to his character it is integral to the plot.“ - Big Als Books and Pals